Hoshen stones Hamsa from Bluenoemi.

Hoshen stones meaning - the Hoshen and its stones

The Hoshen Stones 

The Hoshen stones, also known as the "Stones of the Hoshen" or the "Breastplate Stones," hold significant cultural and historical importance in Judaism. They are referenced in the Hebrew Bible (Exodus 28:15-30) as part of the priestly garments worn by the High Priest of Israel, specifically in the context of the breastplate worn over the ephod.

According to biblical accounts, the Hoshen stones were twelve precious gemstones, each representing one of the twelve tribes of Israel. These gemstones were set in gold settings and arranged in four rows, with each stone inscribed with the name of a tribe.

The specific gemstones mentioned in the biblical text are open to interpretation and debate among scholars. Traditionally, they are believed to include stones such as:

  1. Carnelian
  2. Chrysolite
  3. Emerald
  4. Garnet
  5. Lapis Lazuli
  6. Onyx
  7. Sardius
  8. Sapphire
  9. Topaz
  10. Turquoise
  11. Jacinth (Hyacinth)
  12. Amethyst

The Hoshen stones are symbolically significant in Jewish tradition, representing the unity and diversity of the twelve tribes of Israel. They are also associated with concepts such as leadership, guidance, and spiritual connection.

In contemporary times, jewelry and artifacts inspired by the Hoshen stones remain popular among Judaica enthusiasts and those interested in biblical history and symbolism. These items often feature designs incorporating the colors and symbolism associated with the original gemstones, serving as reminders of the rich heritage and traditions of the Jewish people.

The Hoshen is the breastplate, first worn the High Priest Aaron, brother of Moshe, in the Tabernacle in the desert, and subsequently worn by every high priest since while performing his holy duties.

The Hoshen served as an intermediary between the twelve tribes and God. The gemstones represented the link between the perfection of nature and the aspirations of man.

Hoshen stones meaning

There were 12 precious stones in the Hoshen maybe for representing the twelve tribes of the Children of Israel, and each stone has served as an expression of faith and optimism throughout the generations.

The twelve stones symbolize the unity of the Jewish people and their equal status before the Almighty. As precious and non-precious stones were set together in the Hoshen, so too are the noble born and the commoner are all equal before God. 

The twelve stones of the Hoshen are:

Reuven symbol of love and marriage; aids conception, pregnancy and birth
Topaz Shimon brings blessing of joy and abundance to your life
Emerald Levi symbol of generosity, modesty and kindness
Turquoise Yehuda leads to success in business affairs
Lapis Lazuli Yissachar symbol of honesty and clarity of thought
Quartz Zevulun bestows strength; symbolises purity and the love of truth
Jacinth Dan stimulates creativity; brings on to silf-fulfillment
Agate Naphtali has a special calming effect
Amethyst Gad symbol of spiritual strength; guards against negative energies
Chrysolite Asher purifies both body and soul; brings inner peace
Onyx Yosef strengthens one's courage and self-control
Jasper Binyamin bestows physical strength; raises self-esteem


The hamsa with Hoshen Stones.


Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Bitte beachte, dass Kommentare vor der Veröffentlichung freigegeben werden müssen.